Knitting Goals for 2009

My goal this year is to continue knitting all year. I know to most that sounds like a ridiculous statement. For me it’s just the cycle of the year, I ususally start and end strong, but at some point in the middle, knitting output hits the skids. This year, I am hoping that my choice of projects will help me keep things moving along.

I started my red version of the Barn Raising Quilt [Ravelry link]. I am hoping the fact that I want to knit 99 squares (9 squares x 11 squares), will always give me a TV / baseball watching project to work on. Here are my first 2 squares.

Quilt Squares No. 1 and 2
Red, brown and gray = Knitterly Things Vesper Sock – Hot Metal
Red and white = Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock – Team Spirit

Last year, once the baseball season started, the only project I started and finished was Sawyer’s Pinwheel [Ravelry link]. I always seem to have good intentions and am constantly inspired by the projects others are making (Ravelry is full of new ideas on an almost daily basis).

In addition to the Red Barn Raising Quilt [Ravelry link], I have several other projects in mind for the year. I hope to knit my first lace project, I have the Woodland Shawl in mind. I also want to knit my first plush, a giraffe for my mom. There are a few other projects on my 2009 “To Do” list, so I will try to keep knitting at least a little everyday.

5 Responses to “Knitting Goals for 2009”

  1. Beck Says:

    i was reading your blog after searching the words ‘knit and run’. I wonder if you have heard of yarnbombing? Check out this site as it might inspire you!

    http://knittaplease.com/KNITTA_PLEASE.html

    your creations are great – im just starting and it’s taken me over 2 hours to knit about 2 inches of holy nothingness! :o)

  2. Heather Says:

    Yep, I know the whole start strong, fizzle out, knit like crazy for the holiday issue. I am hoping that I can keep up with my knitting as well this year

  3. Julie Says:

    Hi! You had asked for the bundt cake recipe, and I added it to the comments on the blog post: http://teamknit.blogspot.com/2009/05/leyburn-love.html
    Your quilt squares look gerat, it’s going to be an amazing quilt! And knitting plushies is the best- that giraffe is adorable!!

    • knitandrun Says:

      Thanks for sharing the recipe…can’t wait to try it out!!

      I’ve been plugging away on the quilt squares (I think I’m up to 11), but lately I’ve started working on other things. I haven’t started the giraffe yet, but I’m looking forward to starting soon. Thanks!

  4. Julie Says:

    Hi! You had asked for the bundt cake recipe, and I added it to the comments on the blog post: http://teamknit.blogspot.com/2009/05/leyburn-love.html
    Your quilt squares look great, it’s going to be an amazing quilt! And knitting plushies is the best- that giraffe is adorable!!


Leave a comment