MIA

WOW!!  I have really been gone a long time, haven’t I?  Hopefully I haven’t been forgotten (though I think I probably have).  I went MIA because I actually didn’t knit most of the summer.  I finished Sawyer’s Pinwheel (Ravelry link). It turned out just as I hoped and the mommy was exceedingly pleased…Sawyer quite liked it as well, I think. =o) After knitting that blanket as quickly as I did, I just hit a knitting funk. I would see others projects. I would see beautiful patterns and lovely yarn, all of which I wanted to make or use, but I just couldn’t get anything started. That lasted most of the summer I’m ashamed to say. At the end of September, I started a pair of socks in celebration of Socktober. I worked on them diligently until I realized I knit too much before starting the heel…and they’ve just been sitting on the needles (out of sight) ever since.

Then, as the holidays loomed ever brighter on the horizon, I decided it was time to get my act together. After knitting, the previously mentioned pinwheel blanket, I felt it was time to pull out my Cascade Ecological Wool and cast-on for everyone’s favorite, Hemlock Rink Blanket. I had purchased the yarn last year with plans to knit it as a Christmas present for my grandma, but just couldn’t seem to start in the round to my own satisfaction. This time, I was able start without a hitch and knitted to my little heart’s content. I still need to block it out, but it was nice to complete a project for the first time in 6 months (yikes…I didn’t realize until now that it had been that long). I’m very pleased not only with my ability to complete a project, but with the way it turned out…I can’t wait to see it blocked. Here are some, in progress, pictures:

Hemlock_Day 11.6.08_2

Hemlock Ring bind off

Next, I tried starting on Eunny Jang’s Endpaper Mitts, but I just couldn’t seem to get the cast-on to work. Instead of using another cast-on, I decided to put them on hold. I decided to jump on another bandwagon and knit up a Chevron Scarf. It’s a work in progress, but I really love the pattern and the yarn.

Merry Chevron - Marya 12.1.08
Yarn: BMFA Socks That Rock in space dust and Miss Babs Yummy Sock in cleoptra
Needles: Knit Picks Options US5

I’ve also purchased WAY too much yarn (between actual shopping and Ravelry destash purchases). Here are some of my faves:

My most recent purchase:
Plucky Knitter - Hot Lips
Plucky Knitter in Hot Lips (the perfect red)…I haven’t decided what this will become (I will have 800 yards), but here are some more yarns that I have projects in mind for.

Malabrigo Sock - persia
Malabrigo Sock in persia…this beautiful yarn is going to be transformed into a Woodland Shawl. Aka my first lace project. =o)

Lotus Yarns Nirvana - Falling Away & Rumplestiltskin
These 2 are custom requests created for me by Melanie of Lotus Yarns (Falling Away (Redux) and Rumpelstiltskin). I had these to knit a giraffe for my mom (they’re her favorite animal) and hopefully a pair of ankle socks.

I have a TON more yarn I could share, but I won’t. I’m glad to be back…I hope someone’s out there reading. =o)

One Response to “MIA”

  1. Julie Says:

    That’s a lot of good looking yarn! Your Hemlock ring blanket looks incredible, and that chevron scarf is too cute!!


Leave a comment